ADVERTISEMENT

Pitching Limits released!

What do you think of them?

I really like them. I think it is a good progressive plan to help pitching development in our state. I am a Class 5 coach, and I understand smaller schools' concerns...however, I think this will be good for development and make coaches work with more than their top couple of pitchers every year.

I really like them. I think it is a good progressive plan to help pitching development in our state. I am a Class 5 coach, and I understand smaller schools' concerns...however, I think this will be good for development and make coaches work with more than their top couple of pitchers every year.

Some very good thoughts. I would like to offer my perspective coming from a small school baseball environment. From that perspective, I contend that this may actually hurt development of players in general. I know many small schools that will now have to cancel JV games just to insure that they have enough pitching to cover their varsity schedule. Therefore, a lot of young players are going to lose playing time. This will also negatively effect the quality of baseball being played in the state, especially at the small school level. When you have 10 players on the roster, how many can realistically be developed into a pitcher? I've seen teams that were lucky to have 2 kids who could consistently throw the ball over the plate. So what happens? You have a game that is 22-2 and goes 5 innings because the state won't allow a 15-run rule. Nothing burns up pitches like having to go 5 innings when you are losing by 20. So that team has to use both kids who can sorta throw the ball over the plate in one game - who do they throw 2 days later in their next contest.